Twitter Buttons

Monday, January 14, 2013

FIRE WEATHER: RED FLAG WARNING CALIFORNIA FIRE WEATHER ZONE 231


URGENT - FIRE WEATHER MESSAGE
NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE PHOENIX AZ
322 AM MST MON JAN 14 2013

AZZ131-CAZ231-150300-
/O.NEW.KPSR.FW.W.0001.130114T1800Z-130115T0300Z/
ARIZONA FIRE WEATHER ZONE 131
YUMA/MARTINEZ LAKE AND VICINITY/LOWER COLORADO RIVER VALLEY AZ-
CALIFORNIA FIRE WEATHER ZONE 231
LOWER COLORADO RIVER VALLEY CA-
322 AM MST MON JAN 14 2013 /222 AM PST MON JAN 14 2013/

...RED FLAG WARNING IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM MST /10 AM PST/ THIS
MORNING TO 8 PM MST /7 PM PST/ THIS EVENING FOR STRONG WINDS..
LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY AND HIGH FIRE DANGER FOR THE LOWER COLORADO
RIVER VALLEY..

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN PHOENIX HAS ISSUED A RED FLAG
WARNING FOR STRONG WINDS...LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY AND HIGH FIRE
DANGER...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 11 AM MST /10 AM PST/ THIS MORNING
TO 8 PM MST /7 PM PST/ THIS EVENING.

* AFFECTED AREA...IN ARIZONA...YUMA/MARTINEZ LAKE AND
VICINITY/LOWER COLORADO RIVER VALLEY AZ. IN CALIFORNIA...LOWER
COLORADO RIVER VALLEY CA.

* WINDS...NORTH 20 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 40 MPH.

* TIMING...LATE THIS MORNING THROUGH EARLY EVENING.

* RELATIVE HUMIDITY...AS LOW AS 10 PERCENT.

* IMPACTS...FUELS ARE DRY AND FIRE DANGER IS HIGH. THESE
CONDITIONS...COMBINED WITH LOW RELATIVE HUMIDITY AND STRONG WINDS
WILL LEAD TO WIDESPREAD HAZARDOUS FIRE WEATHER CONDITIONS.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS..

PLEASE ADVISE THE APPROPRIATE OFFICIALS AND FIRE CREWS IN THE
FIELD OF THIS RED FLAG WARNING.


Twitter links

-
****REMINDER**** Every fire has the ability to be catastrophic. The wildland fire management environment has profoundly changed. Growing numbers of communities, across the nation, are experiencing longer fire seasons; more frequent, bigger, and more severe, fires are a real threat. Be careful with all campfires and equipment.
View blog top tags
---------------------
CLICK HERE TO GO BACK TO TOP OF CALIFORNIA FIRE NEWS HOME PAGE